On Missing Home and Activism From a Distance

Dear Friends, 

It has been almost a month since we’ve had company in our home and, while our budget is returning to normal, we miss having people. 

We had Laurel practically all December and Matt for all three of the Spanish winter holidays. One of the worst things of having people is that it makes me want to see ALL our loved ones at home. 

One of the best things about having company in our little town of Lugo is that we get to show off the place. Even better than instilling Lugo pride in us: we get to discover new things about our town. As an example, we found a new museum about the history of Lugo’s wall. With interactive screens and professional videos, this museum is one of the best little museums in Lugo (they are peppered all over here). 

Here is a picture of Jaz inside a model of the wall of Lugo while in a museum about the wall of Lugo which is located inside the Wall of Lugo (That’s so meta!):


On top of missing our loved ones, this has been the first week of the Trump administration. Those who know me know that I am deeply troubled by many of the stances now in the White House on race, religion, and gender. Because of this, I wish I could have taken part in my own local march of protest. But I can’t because I’m in Lugo. While I’m proud to say that similar protests were held around the world, none were held in Lugo. 

Not content to let things go, I set to protesting on social media (for all the good that does). While it likely didn’t have any real impact, like the march did, I am seeking to continue my protest. To do so, I’m following the plan of 10 actions in 100 days from the same people who organized the women’s march. Basically, it started with the march and now there will be a new, nonviolent act of protest to take part in. 

The current action is to write a letter to your senators and representative in Congress. I wrote mine with my concerns about the cabinet nominations of Betsy DeVos and Rex Tillerson, executive actions coming out of the Oval Office, and the laws and executive actions being written with clauses which prevent the public from legal action against the law and/or even knowing the details of investigations on the cost of repealing the Affordable Care Act without a replacement. While there are so many things I could have written about, I decided it would be best to focus on three issues.  I recommend the same for anyone else taking part. 

While I have already heard back from one of my senators (vague, prewritten response), I still feel that it is the best chance I have had to speak truth to power. In the event that there is something on the list I can’t (or won’t) do, I plan on writing to my senators and representative again. 

Sending all my love back home,

Blake

