Sights, Lights, and Tea in Oporto (Jazmin’s Perspective)

Dear friends,
We recently journeyed to Oporto, and Blake and I have come away with quite different perspectives on the city, but if there’s one thing we agree on it’s that Oporto’s scenery is magical. 

We arrived in time to situate ourselves on the bridge and watch the sunset, though even without the sun, Oporto lights up at night, illuminating the marvelous architecture. It looked like fairy dust covered the bridge and any moment it would fly. 



I walked around star struck, exclaiming again and again how incredible the scenery. Of course, as the automated audio tour guide said, ” No matter what time of day, the sunset is always lovely. (“But a sunset is a particular time of day…” said Matt. “There’s a sunset somewhere,” responded Jazmin). 



I particularly enjoyed the street art. There are quite a few nonworking telephone booths in Oporto. I couldn’t tell you why. Laurel and I tried to keep count of them all, but we lost track at ten. 


Even the food was remarkably crafted (though not as tasty as Lucense cuisine). 

The tea shop was my favorite. I wish I could have Jasmine tea and a swan scone every morning. (The waiter said it was a duck scone, but I decided swan sounded more elegant.) 


A woman sat at a table across from us working from her laptop and ignoring the waiter. She doesn’t know how good she has it, to work there on weekday mornings. 

If you like exercise and movement like me, you’ll appreciate the inclined streets and many stairs. Excellent for the inspired sprinter like our friend Matt. 

And while the locals were kind, diverse tourists aplenty, friends make the best travel companions. 


The locals: 

I especially liked two kind people. 

One was the elderly gentleman receptioning the hotel who spent five minutes training us on the correct pronunciation of thank you in Portuguese which is Obrigato (OObrigado), then he showed us best places to visit around the city. 

The second person was a suave, tall waiter who served our morning tea. He made sure to tell us the name of each pastry and what it was made of. Nata, a small custard pie, is one of the more famous Oporto desserts. 


Beach, vibrant city life, museums and monuments galore, delicious swan scones and tea, sights to swoon over…

What’s not to like about Oporto? 

While I certainly wouldn’t mind living there, Blake has quite a different opinion. His version to be published on Wednesday. 

Until next week,

Jazmin

2 thoughts on “Sights, Lights, and Tea in Oporto (Jazmin’s Perspective)

  1. Hey Olivers!! I stumbled upon that business card with your alls info scribbled on it and I’m so glad I did. I am enjoying reading about life and all the great adventures you are having overseas. I’m praying for you guys and hope you are doing well!! Just wanted to leave a note and say hello (:

    Like

Comments are closed.